As I have mentioned several times before, I leverage Google News Alerts to keep track of my “brand”. Well, today I got a doozy…

Isn’t that sweet! Someone took my Websense hack from 2007 – which I’m very proud of but sadly no longer works – and made linkbait out of it!
The link itself is weird. Unfortunately (?), the domain name potokovoe.100webspace.net resolves to 127.0.0.1 (a.k.a. “localhost” for you newbs out there), so when I clicked on it nothing happened.
No problem. Just check Google’s cache, right? Well, when I did that, this is what I got redirected to…

DOH!
I hate when that happens! Especially because it never happens to me. Normally I’m cruisin’ the Interwebs with Firefox & NoScript, but not this time! Caught with my pants down and ass hangin’ out.
At least it wasn’t Internet Exploder or I’d probably be seriously pwn3d by now (if you can’t tell just by looking, it’s Google Chrome).
I’m not quite sure how I should feel about this. On one hand, it’s cool to be Web-famous enough for some malware scammer to be using me for SEO (I do have the #1 Google search for “Websense Policy Bypass”, thank you), but on the other hand now my Brand Name is associated with fucking malware! I suppose the FBI/DHS/CIA has my number now.
Dang.
What did I do to deserve this? I suppose it has something to do with all the .ru blog SPAM I’ve put in the trash since I started this site because I’m certain the Cameroonian puppy scammers would never pull that kind of bullshit.
So listen guys, I’ll run your SPAM if that’s what it takes to stop this crap, but if this shit keeps up I’m going to have to start charging royalties.
0 Responses to “I Suppose I Should Be Flattered But…”
Leave a Reply